Fasting Tips

Salvete Amici,

And if any of you are Muslim, Eid Mubarak!  If not, you’re probably wondering what that means!?  The past 30 days, from June 8-August 7, Muslims all over the world have been fasting to celebrate Ramadan.  The fast is pretty harsh: no food or drink from 3am-8:30pm every day.  It’s supposed to be a time to humble you, show you what it is like for people who don’t have food, and pray.  However, it’s aso a time to celebrate and visit friends.  In fact, your blessings increase if you invite others over for a break-fast feast.  Anyway, the last day of Ramadan is called Eid al-Fitr, which is a huge feast, and a great day of celebration, and ‘eid mubarak’ means ‘happy eid!’

Now I’m not Muslim, but I told my best friend (who is) that I would try fasting for one day.  I love dares, so this was like the ultimate challenge!

Here are some things I learnt that might be helpful to anyone else who’s thinking of fasting (for health or religious purposes):

1.  It’s a really good idea to eat right before you begin fasting.  The night before, I ate a late dinner, and then set up a little snack on my bedside table (milk, a power bar, and water).  I also set my alarm for 2:45am.  Even thought I was half asleep when it went off, and not really hungry, I forced myself to eat anyway, and I drank the water LAST.

2.  Hunger comes and goes.  I wasn’t actually hungry all the time, but there where some moments when I really want to have a look in the fridge, or drink a glass of water.  Give yourself little tasks throughout the day.  Once you begin to distract yourself, you’ll forget about the hunger until it passes.  But don’t do anything too strenuous, or requiring too much focus.  Take a small walk, take a nap, watch a movie, etc.,.

3.  Relaxing helps you fast.  Don’t fast on a day when you have to meet people or go places.  Those things require a lot of energy that you won’t be renewing.

4.  Food aromas help!  Yes, I was really surprised by this.  Smelling my dad make lunch actually relieved the hunger I was feeling then.

Towards the end of my fast, around 7pm, was when I started to feel really hungry.  My stomach was growling, and I couldn’t pay attention to the movie I was watching, but that was probably because I knew I was going to eat soon.  My stomach was anticipating this coming reward!

But when I finally ate, I actually was satisfied really quickly.  One serving, and I was full.  This actually continue for the next couple days.  I had no urges to eat between meals, or take extra servings, and I felt really good!

So in closing, I definitely recommend fasting.  If you aren’t religious or doing a dare, you should definitely drink water every now and then.  But just try it, and see how you feel afterwards.

I’m so gad I did 🙂

Peace,

~Pindari

What do you think?

