Sun Salute

Salvete Amici!

You may have heard me reference “Sun Salutation” several times, and wondered what that was.  It is yoga, and one of the only regular exercises I do 😀

Anyway, my mother taught me how to do it, and I have been doing 11 repetitions every morning for almost three months straight now.  It wakes me up, gets my jumpstarts my circulation, and helps my stay relatively flexible.  It’s also really quick; 1 repetition takes maybe twenty seconds.

Sun Salutation is really easy to do, and as few as only 5 repetitions already gets your heart beating faster.  I really recommend it, and I thought I would illustrate the steps for anyone who’s curious.

NOTE:  Do not attempt this in socks, especially on a hard wood floor!  I have no idea why I drew this person wearing socks.  Maybe because it looked cute?!

Start with your palms pressed together and your thumbs wrapped one over the other.  Press the outer thumb knuckle against your sternum.

Stand facing  a window.  Start with your palms pressed together and your thumbs wrapped one over the other. Press the outer thumb knuckle against your sternum.

Reach your linked hands up  and breath in.

Reach your linked hands up and breath in.

Fold over, bending knees a little, and touch the ground.

Fold over, bending knees a little, and touch the ground.

Put one leg back in a lunge position.  This should be the right leg, but aIl always do left first.  Make sure that your front leg in bent no more than 90 degrees.  Keep your back as straight as possible.

Put one leg back in a lunge position. This should be the right leg, but aIl always do left first. Make sure that your front leg in bent no more than 90 degrees. Keep your back as straight as possible.

Bring your front leg to the back as well.

Bring your front leg to the back as well.

Do the plank for a couple breaths.

Do the plank for a couple breaths.

Bend both legs again.

Bend both legs again.

Fold back on your knees and then come back forward.

Fold back on your knees and then come back forward.

Raise your self as much as you can while still keeping your pelvis flat on the ground.

Raise your self as much as you can while still keeping your pelvis flat on the ground.

Push up into a trangular shape (sorry, I don't know the real yoga terms, haha).   Breath out all the air in your lungs before continuing to the next step.

Push up into a trangular shape (sorry, I don’t know the real yoga terms, haha). Breath out all the air in your lungs before continuing to the next step.  This is probably the hardest step.

Swing a leg forward.  (The one you didn't use last time).

Fill your lungs as you swing a leg forward. (The one you didn’t use last time).

Get ready to stand again, pressing palms together, and locking thumbs one over the other as before.

Get ready to stand again, pressing palms together, and locking thumbs one over the other as before.

Reach your linked hands up  and breath in.

Reach your linked hands up and breath in.

Breath out as you lower your linked hands to your sternum again.  Feel your pulse with you thumb knuckle.  After you've done five, you should feel an increased rate of beats.

Breath out as you lower your linked hands to your sternum again. Feel your pulse with you thumb knuckle. After you’ve done five, you should feel an increased rate of beats.

I recommend repeating ten times.  I only do eleven because I like to do an extra for good luck 😉

Some more NOTES:  a) This is going to be extremely frustrating at first.   b) Do this before you eat breakfast.  c) Everyone does this slightly differently, and this is just my version that I learnt from my mother.  Try watching different youtube videos to see how other people do it, and you will find the perfect mixture for you.  d) Each time you start a new repeat, you will lunge with the second foot.  So if you started on your right foot the leaqding feet for each lunge would be R then L,L then RR then LL then R… and so on.

Feel free to ask me any questions… I realize this is complicated!!

Good luck, and peace,

~Pindari

2 thoughts on “Sun Salute

What do you think?

